Nominations for the Queensland Pearcey Entrepreneur Awards are now Open! Nominations close Monday 17 August

Are you an ICT entrepreneur who believes you have taken a risk or have made a difference? Or do you know of someone – a colleague, friend or family member whom has made a difference or sparked inspiration within the local entrepreneurial community?

If you have answered ‘yes’ with either one of these questions above, then the Queensland Pearcey Foundation would love to hear from you via nomination running for the Pearcey State Entrepreneur Award!

Nominations strictly close on Monday 17 August 2020. If you have someone in mind who you would like to nominate or would like to nominate yourself, then all it takes is a simple document which explicitly covers the four key criteria (risk; difference; inspiration; and a significant contribution to the Queensland ICT industry), a LinkedIn URL, CV and contact details.

More details are as follows.

The Pearcey State ICT Entrepreneur Award recognises outstanding ICT entrepreneurs who have ‘taken a risk’, ‘made a difference’, and ‘are an inspiration’.The 2020 Queensland Pearcey State ICT Entrepreneur Award  will be presented at a prestigious dinner on Tuesday October 6 at Hillstone, St. Lucia. The winner then represents Queensland at the national event held in Melbourne later in the year (subject to confirmation).Typically, there are 8-10 nominees each year.Last year’s winner  was Tim Neale, co-founder and managing director of agtech company DataFarming.

Past winners have included David Babagallo, Jenine Beekhuyzen, Aaron Birkby, Adrian Di Marco, Paul Gampe, Janine Garrett, Wayne Gerard, Neil Glentworth, Tammy Halter, Brett Hooker, Andrew Jessett, Raeleen Kaesehagen, Kon Kakanis, Peter Laurie, Bevan Slattery and Peter Ward.

You (or the nominee) should prepare a simple document with sections explicitly covering the four key criteria listed below plus a LinkedIn URL and a CV. It should include contact details (name, email address and phone number) and emailed to both the national secretariat at  and

All nominees will be asked if they want acknowledgement at the dinner.

Nominations close Monday 17 August with no extensions


Risk – someone who has gone out on a limb to bring a significant new business and/or technology to the market. Usually this is a founder with vision, passion and determination who has driven a venture through to fruition.

Difference – someone who has achieved significant commercial success with positive impact on the ICT industry. Often these achievements are recognised on the world stage in their chosen industry/sector.

Inspiration – someone who is a role model for young people and is a leader in the Australian ICT industry. Typically, they will have many other interests, such as mentoring, a high profile in the community, and be a vocal advocate for change.

Candidates do not need to have been born in Queensland, nor do they need to be residents now. But they will be expected to have made a major contribution to the Queensland ICT industry as set out above.

Visit  or contact Steven Turner on 3389 3525 or


The Pearcey Foundation aims to make Australians proudly aware of the achievements of Australia’s ICT industries and of the work of the many Australians, young and old, who have made those achievements possible. Appropriately, the foundation is named after Dr Trevor Pearcey, who led the project team that built CSIRAC 1947 to 1949. It is now the oldest surviving computer in the world and on display in the Melbourne Museum. A foundation has been established in his name which makes awards to outstanding individuals in our industry.ABOUT THE PEARCEY MEDAL
The Pearcey Medal is a prestigious annual individual award that recognises a distinguished lifetime achievement and contribution to the development and growth of the ICT industry in Australia. Since inception in 1998, the national Pearcey Medal has been awarded to six Queenslanders: Professor David Abramson, Steve Baxter, Mal Bryce, Professor Bill Caelli, John Grant and David Merson. Other awardees include Murray Allen, Roger Allen, Fiona Balfour, Professor John Bennett AO, Tony Benson, Mal Bryce AO, Lyndsey Cattermole, Dr Dennis Cooper, Brand Hoff AM, Dr Peter Jones, George Kepper, Professor Mike Miller AO, Professor John O’Callaghan, Mary O’Kane AC, Neville Roach AO, Trevor Robinson AM and Dr Alex Zelinsky AO.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Stay up to date, subscribe to our Newsletter

The Gold Coast Innovation Hub © 2021
All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy.

Click the button below to subscribe to our newsletter and hear about upcoming events!

Gold Coast Innovation Hub
Room 1.14
Southern Cross University
1 Terminal Drive, Bilinga
Meetings by appointment
Mon to Fri: 9:00am - 5:00pm